Media and Society Foundation
Home Contact us Useful Links
Useful Links

Useful Links…

The European Broadcasting Union (EBU) is the largest professional association of national broadcasters in the world. The Union has 72 active Members in 52 countries of Europe, North Africa and the Middle East, and 49 associate Members in 28 countries further afield.

ISO is a network of the national standards institutes of 148 countries, on the basis of one member per country, with a Central Secretariat in Geneva, Switzerland, that coordinates the system.

ISAS is a private company specialized in standardisation and accreditation services. Its mission consists to assist private enterprise and public institutions, professional and consumer associations as well as public administrations in the establishment and maintenance of quality standards and in the accreditation of certification bodies in charge of verifying conformity with these standards. All ISAS data are accessible on-line.

The World Summit on the Information Society is held in two phases.
The first phase
of WSIS took place in Geneva hosted by the Government of Switzerland,
from 10 to 12 December 2003.
It addressed the broad range of themes concerning the Information Society and adopted a Declaration of Principles and Plan of Action.
The second phase
will take place in Tunis hosted by the Government of Tunisia,
from 16 to 18 November 2005.

The Information Society must be conceived with a major input of radio and television. The WEMF is an opportunity for broadcasters and the global viewing/listening public to assert their needs and expectations to the government leaders gathered in Geneva at the WSIS.
United Nations
Broadcasting Unions
Broadcasting Associations